Hierarchy of Blood

YA Dystopian Romance

The winner will be crowned Ambassador's Bride. The losers will meet certain death.

When you're living inside a dwarf planet in the cold abyss of space, life is only easy if you're rich. 17-year-old Marishel Vance works as a seamstress - but when she's selected to compete in a brutal contest for the Ambassador's hand in marriage, she's quickly catapulted into a life-threatening struggle.

Marishel hates the idea of fighting for some stuck-up rich guy - no matter how handsome he is. But after her attempts to escape are thwarted, she becomes desperate to find a way to end the Blood Match and save the lives of the girls she's training with. The key could lie in Ambassador Quin himself ... but as she tries to win his friendship, her growing feelings for him only complicate the matter.

As the Blood Match looms closer, Marishel spirals deeper into a world of intrigue, danger, punishment, and secrets. Trusting the wrong people means game over. If Marishel wants to save herself - and the other fifty-nine girls sentenced to death - she'll have to break every rule in the book to do it...

As a riveting and imaginative science fiction novel that expertly weaves exhilarating action and nail-biting suspense with a futuristic death game like no other, Hierarchy of Blood is a page-turning read that's perfect for fans of books like The Selection and The Hunger Games.

Author's Notes

This YA dystopian romance can also be called, “The Selection meets The Hunger Games in space.” Instead of a beauty contest to find the prince’s bride, sixty girls are forced to battle for him—to the death. But Marishel is just a seamstress who sucks at fighting. Now, she has only one month of training to find a way to survive … and falling for the leader’s handsome son would complicate everything.

Similar Works

  • The Selection (book) by Kiera Cass
  • The Hunger Games (movie) by Francis Lawrence, Gary Ross
  • The Hunger Gamses (book) by Suzanne Collins

Book Awards

  • Southern California Book Festival: 2022 Winner--Young Adult
  • Paris Book Festival: 2022 Second-place Runner up--Young Adult
  • New England Book Festival: 2022 Second-place Runner up--Science Fiction
  • New York Book Festival: 2022 Honorable Mention--Science Fiction
  • Hollywood Book Festival: 2022 Honorable Mention--Science Fiction

0
No votes yet

610 views

Genre: Fiction > Coming of Age

Listed on:

Readers Reviews